Navigating the latest Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.2)

min read
October 16, 2023

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) recently introduced new success criteria in the updated Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2. These criteria aim to enhance the accessibility of web content, making it more user-friendly for people with disabilities. Let's delve into these new guidelines.

Focus Not Obscured (Level AA) & Focus Not Obscured (Enhanced) (Level AAA)

These criteria ensure that interactive controls, such as buttons and links, have a visible and consistent focus state, free from obstructions. This makes it easy to identify the selected button or link without interference from other page elements.

Focus Appearance (Level AAA)

To aid users navigating without a mouse, this criterion requires interactive controls to have a visible focus indicator with strong contrast from the surrounding content. This helps keyboard or non-mouse users identify the active control on a website.

Dragging Movements (Level AA)

For features requiring drag and drop actions, like moving items on a page, accessibility now demands keyboard or assistive technology support. This ensures that all users, including those unable to use a mouse, can interact with these vital website features.

Target Size (Minimum) (Level AA)

All clickable elements, including links and buttons, should be sufficiently large to accommodate users with motor disabilities and touch screens. This ensures that everyone, regardless of their abilities, can interact with essential page elements without unintentional clicks.

Consistent Help (Level A)

To improve user experience, help and support information must be consistent and easily accessible across a website. This ensures users can find assistance without hassle, benefiting all users and particularly those with disabilities.

Redundant Entry (Level A)

No longer should users be burdened with repetitive data entry. This criterion enhances user experience by eliminating the need to re-enter the same information repeatedly, particularly benefiting those with memory-related disabilities.

Accessible Authentication (Minimum) (Level AA) & Accessible Authentication (Enhanced) (Level AAA)

Authentication processes must be accessible to all users, removing barriers for those with disabilities. In Level AA, cognitive function tests should be optional with alternative methods. Websites should facilitate a seamless login process for everyone, improving efficiency and focus.

These new WCAG 2.2 success criteria align with the evolving landscape of web accessibility and usability. By following these guidelines, web developers can create a more inclusive and user-friendly digital environment. For in-depth information, visit the W3C Candidate Recommendation Draft.

Elevate your brand today.